No News Is Not Good News

April 18, 2008 at 7:59 am | Posted in Jackie Manuel, Lates Links | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

In case there was any doubt that I don’t know what I’m talking about. . . and I don’t think there was. . . nothing happened yesterday. I apologize to the several thousands of you who clicked over here from the IC boards, shattering my precious blog stats, who didn’t know that I have no idea what I’m talking about. I stand by my sources, but, like me, they obviously have no idea what they are talking about, either. Some might think this was all a cheap ploy to drive up blog traffic, but I’m really not that smart.

Anyway,  I suppose that nothing happened can’t be considered bad news either. It does mean we’ve got at least another few days of agonizing over these kid’s decisions. Not fun for us, but it is impossible to find any fault in them taking their time with these huge decisions. One interesting note from Greg Barnes’s recap:

Underclassmen have until April 27 to enter their names into the NBA Draft; if they don’t hire an agent, they have until June 16 to withdraw.

But North Carolina has never had a player to test the professional waters during Williams’ tenure, and the coach believes there is a legitimate reason for that.

“I think that if we do it the right way, we’re going to get a lot of information,” said Williams, who added that he’s never been surprised by a player’s decision. “I don’t know if you can gain much more by ‘testing the waters.’ By the end of the day tomorrow, I will have had direct contact through the [NBA’s Undergraduate Advisory Committee] or face-to-face or on the phone with 18 different NBA teams. So I feel pretty secure in what we’re doing.”

It seems that most Carolina players only leave when the lottery is a lock and so there really isn’t any reason to test the waters. The waters are lukewarm for these three players (maybe four?) though and so perhaps they would be wise to use the opportunity. The water in Chapel Hill is pretty nice though, if not quite as lucrative. Marc Davis is retiring after 30 years. Thanks for always having an extra pair of contacts.

Brian Sabean > Billy Beane? Wright Wright Wright. Hugs cure hiccups? John Hollinger previews the playoffs. How to make sure Geordies go right back to drugs? Please not Chris Long. Have a lovely weekend!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ha. I’ll buy you a beer anyway. Thanks to Marc Davis for the years of service and that awesome stache.

  2. So hey, if I get written documentation that I’m alcoholic AND addicted to drugs, will Newcastle buy me a plane ticket in addition to my match tix?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

